About the Law Foundation-Queensland trust fund

The trust fund called the Law Foundation-Queensland Trust, was established to benefit solicitors who are members of the Queensland Law Society.

About Us

Queensland Law Foundation Pty Ltd (the Foundation) is trustee for Law Foundation–Queensland, which by Court approval, holds the assets previously held by Law Foundation Insurance Trust. Mr Justin O’Sullivan is the Foundation's founding Chairman and personally guaranteed the Foundation when the Trust faced significant financial and other difficulties by putting up his own funds/assets to secure its survival.

Mr O’Sullivan was awarded an AM in 2008 in recognition of this and other contributions to the legal profession and the community.

The capital and income is held on behalf of the beneficiaries named in the trust, and these beneficiaries include all members of the QLS, as well as the QLS itself. The QLS was included as a further potential beneficiary at the request of the Foundation.

The Foundation supports its beneficiaries by way of conferring grants upon application, and eligibility is determined by the terms of the Trust Deed.

In many instances, applications come from the QLS itself, to assist in the funding of its various member benefit programs and recently the QLF funded the refurbishment of Level 2 of Law Society House, which level was established for the benefit of members and contains facilities which visiting members may require, as well as a fully equipped auditorium for seminars, and individual meeting rooms.

Financial assistance has also been provided to bodies outside the QLS, some of which include Law Asia (in partnership with QLS); and the TC Beirne School of Law.

Projects owned/initiated by the Foundation include:

  1. The production and distribution of the revised edition of the Primary Producers’ Legal Handbook.
  2. Schemes to assist solicitors in need: Establishment of the Solicitor Assist Program, the Solicitor Assist Hotline and the Benevolent Fund.

The current members of the Board are Raoul Giudes (Chair), Michael Meadows, Glenn Ferguson AM, Joan Bennett, Peter Short AM, Annette Bradfield, Chris Coyne, Claire Hart and Warren Denny. Each member of the Board acts in an honorary capacity.

Who to contact

Contact the Secretary of the Foundation for information concerning any of its activities:

T 07 3236 1249

M 0400 533 396

F 07 3054 0536

E law.foundation